The 15th year of the RTÉ Choice Music Prize promises to be one of the most hotly contested yet.

Every year some of the most experienced in the game come together to judge what is ultimately donned the Irish album of the year.

Last year we saw Waterford’s O Emperor win the prize for album of the year for their project ‘Jason’.

This year the nominees for the coveted award were revealed on Tracy Clifford’s RTÉ2fm show. The ten strong list includes:

Daithí – L.O.S.S
Mick Flannery – Mick Flannery
Fontaines D.C. – Dogrel
Girl Band – The Talkies
Jafaris – Stride
Junior Brother – Pull The Right Rope
Lankum – The LiveLong Day
SOAK – Grim Town
Maija Sofia – Bathtime
Sorcha Richardson – First Prize Bravery

The actual prize for the winning artist is €10,000 and it the fund is supported by The Irish Music Rights Organisation (IMRO) and The Irish Recorded Music Association (IRMA).

The awards ceremony takes place on 5 March at Vicar Street. Click here for tickets.

Culture Ireland will fund the attendance of influential overseas Industry executives to attend the RTE Choice Music Prize Live Event.



Words: Dylan Murphy 
Tweet / Share

Related Posts: