Music / November 30, 2020

Listen to Peter Curtin’s 40 favourite Irish tracks of the year

Aby Coulibaly
Music / November 30, 2020

Listen to Peter Curtin’s 40 favourite Irish tracks of the year

Words: Dylan Murphy

A comprehensive listen for those looking to hear some of the best releases in 2020.

It’s easy to miss great releases in the internet era. Despite the accessibility of new music, actually deciding on what to listen to or cutting through the overwhelming noise can be difficult.

Worldwide FM presenter Peter Curtin has hosted a show dedicated to his 40 favourite Irish tracks of 2020.

Bouncing between newcomers like Monjola and Aby Coulibaly to more established acts like Kojaque of Soft Boy Records, Peter has curated a healthy mix of tracks across a plethora of different genres.

Full track list:

Brién – Sundried [Soft Boy Records]
Sputnik One – Smart Lung [First Second Label]
Gadget & The Cloud – Some Time Soon [Self]
April – New Conditions [2020 Vision]
Loah – Birthmark [Self]
Marcus Woods – Dain Yoon [Self]
Rejjie Snow ft. Snoh Aalegra & Cam O’Bi – Mirrors [Honeymoon Records]
Kean Kavanagh – Snoozie [Soft Boy Records]
Aby Coulibaly – Taurus [Chamomile Records]
Monjola – Know You [Chamomile Records]
Garies – Emergency Tenner [Future Times]
Kojaque – Shmelly [Soft Boy Records]
60 Miles – Arcade [Jheri Tracks]
Hazey Haze – Silhouettes [PX Music]
God Knows ft. Denise Chaila, Gavin DaVinci, Citrus Fresh, Hazey Haze & Strange
Boy Nature – Who’s Asking? (SertOne Remix) [Fly High Society]
Archy Moor ft. Osquello – The Long Road [Self]
Toby Kaar – One For Julie [Self]
Cooks But We’re Chefs – Tembé Road [Self]
Cami – Moon [Permanent Creeps Records]
Aratita Electronik Jazz Quintet – The Greens are Red [Fly High Society]
TAU & The Drones of Praise ft. Deirdre Mulrooney – All That Is [Drones of Praise]
Dreamcycles – Memory Laneways [Queeste Records]
EFÉ – Table For Two [Self]
MuRli – No Exit [narolane records]
Fehdah – Day In Shock [D12 Loud]
Keith Tobin ft. Fiadh Rua Gregg – Signals [Self]
Aoife Nessa Frances – Blow Up [Basin Rock]
Caleb Kunle – Only [Self]
Whozyerman? – Ooze [Self]
Song Sung – Orbiting Slow (Here It Comes) [Night Time Stories]
Rising Damp – In Blue [wherethetimegoes]
Shiv – U Don’t Burn [Self]
Denise Chaila ft. Outsider YP – All That [narolane records]
Gemma Dunleavy – Up De Flats [Self]
Rob de Boer – COSTA [Cracked Skull Records]
Bedlam Suitcase ft. Izumi Kimura – Meet The Media [Self]
Paj – Superman [Self]
Danny G & The Major 7ths ft. Tolü Makay & Jamel Franklin – D.A.R.L.I.N.G
[Hipdrop Records]
GAPTOOF. ft. Mimikat – Caps Lock [Soft Boy Records]
ELLLL – Housebreaker [Forthcoming First Second Label]

Click here to listen to the show.

Click here to read about our Future of Irish Music feature that examines the 15 acts ready to take on 2021.