General News / July 31, 2017

The Irish top 20 chart: July 2017

General News / July 31, 2017

The Irish top 20 chart: July 2017

July was a strong one…


On the last week of every month we’ll be ranking the best Irish tracks that came out over the course of the past 30 days.

The top 20 will feature new singles and videos from experimental, electronica, hip hop and R&B artists.

Here’s how the last few weeks shaped up.

20. Hvmmingbyrd – Gozo

Deborah Byrne and Suzette Das release yet another hazy pop outing.

Let ‘Gozo’ soothe you into this month’s chart…

19. Talos – This Is Us Colliding

Trying to get across the beauty of Talos’ live performance is difficult in visual form, but director Brendan Canty seems to have nailed in their most recent video.

Watch ‘This Is Us Colliding’ below.

18. PrYmary Colours – People In Glass House

Homegrown electronica duo PrYmary Colours released their new EP a few weeks back, but earlier this month they released ‘People In Glass House’ for free.

We’ve chosen the titular track for this month’s chart.

17. Leo Miyagee – Wade In The Water ft. FrendleeGhost

Belfast rapper Leo Miyagee has been getting seriously consistent with his releases, sharing new music constantly.

This one he released in July is one of his best yet. Big things coming from Leo.

16. Sage – Tidy Wires

Subject, Dublin resident Sage had his new track premiered on Stamp the Wax this month.

‘Tidy Wires’ is taken from Jheri Tracks’ second compilation.

15. Reffi – Mirrors

Another late entry, as Reffi’s track ‘Mirrors’ came sliding in just in time to make this month’s chart. The young MC says his massively inspired by the likes of Mick Jenkins, Earl Sweatshirt and Loyle Carner,

Chilled out hip hop from the 16-year-old Dubliner.

14. Rocstrong – Be Cool

The vocalists now regular monthly release came in the form of ‘Be Cool’ this month.

It seems the Dubliner is back in full swing.

13. Skilyt ft. Monkey Museick – Dublin

Tallaght native Skilyt returned to the rap circuit with his new track ‘Dublin’ featuring Monkey Museick.

The catchy trap-infused number is the first release off of his upcoming EP ‘Snakes and Ladders’, from which he plans to tease two more tracks and videos from before the end of the Summer.

12. Mura Masa feat. Bonzai – Nuggets

Following on from multiple releases featuring Desiigner, Damon Albarn and more, Mura Masa returned with a vibrant track featuring Dubliner Bonzai entitled ‘Nuggets’ as well as the more upbeat number ‘Helpline’ with Tom Tripp.

11. New Jackson – Put The Love In It

In May David Kitt released his debut LP as New Jackson called ‘From Night to Night’.

He also recently teamed up with skate photographer Richard Gilligan who took the directorial reigns on a video for ‘Anya’s Piano’.

In July the Irish producer returned with some new visuals. Created by painter/graffiti artist Finbar McHugh and art director Brett O’Mahony, “it was a lengthy creative process with Brett animating and manipulating over 500 of Finbar’s painted stills to match the intricate musical and rhythmic gestures of the song”.

10. Bodies – I’m Waiting

‘I’m Waiting’ is the second single release from homegrown artist BODIES. It was officially released on Minor Fall Records this month.

Nightmoves’ was the first single from David Anthony Mc Geown’s musical alias, which he released late last year.

Watch the video below, written by David and brought to life by Crooked Gentleman production team, and directed by Shaun Ryan.

9. JYellowL – Cold in the Summer

“‘Cold in the Summer’ went from being a very personal project to a collective artwork we all have a piece of ourselves in words can’t express my gratitude, thank you guys.”

JYellowL returned this month with a brand new video, shot in one day in various locations around Dublin city.

“A project that was made possible by amazing, hardworking and passionate people who together persevered a 12 hour production with me in one day.”

8. Lakerama – Just Enjoy Yourself ( Y 0 ? )

Lakerama consists of Graeme S (Hsuan Records) and Senita (Shookrah) who released their debut EP ‘ONE’ two years ago.

They released a new concept music video for ‘Just Enjoy Yourself / ( Y 0 ? )’, pronounced ‘Y Naught’, this month which features two tracks from their EP, ‘Contactless‘.

7. Rebel Phoenix – Live Like That

Gaining a reputation as one of the most prolific MCs in the city as of late with new records and videos dropping every month, Rebel Phoenix has teamed up with producer Ninety7Hertz on his latest track ‘Live Like That.

This is the third single off of his forthcoming album ‘D.M.T.N.T.’ which will be released at the end of the summer. His latest tracks have shown a progression from dusty boom bap to a more modern sound, incorporating classic jazz samples with trap beats and this is no exception with P spitting tongue twisting rhymes over a mellow saxophone loop coupled with rumbling 808s.

6. Spudgun – Crayons

According to an interview with Spudgun back in November, the band crash-landed their spaceship in Dublin about a year ago.

They combine their blend of psychedelic-jazz-electro-funk-rock (space goo) with tales from the depths of the universe.

We premiered a new video by the extra-terrestrial group this month.


5. Nonzus Magnus – Mob 100

Dublin rapper Nonzus Magnus has been steadily releasing on Soundcloud and YouTube, but with this new video he has the potential to emerge as one of the hardest hitting MCs on the island.

The visuals shot by EdDidIt accompany the slow-burning lyrics, giving the track a sense of menace.

The beat is a slightly altered version of Night Lovell’s ‘Boy Red‘, but saying that, it still bangs.

4. Orange Tree Edits – Back To Kingston (Mix & Fairbanks Edit)

Dublin-based record label Orange Tree Edits bring in Kildare duo Mix & Fairbanks for their third release.

The pair’s disco edit of ‘Back To Kingston’ on the A side lands in at number four on the chart.

3. Gaptoof – Wandering

Gaptoof is the new alias for Soft Boy Records artist Nxstalgic.

The Cork producer released a 16-track mixtape called ‘Motorola’ on the digital imprint last July. It was chilled out collection of beats, peppered with interesting vocals, and he has since dropped a selection of stand-alone tracks too.

2. Cnámha – Tearduct

The Irish producer recently shared a new EP entitled ‘Identity’ on Brunswick Sound. According to Cnámha the release says, “this is what I am and was too”.

“Like in ‘Identity’ for example you can hear a few black metal snippets referencing the time before I was really into electronic music.”

Listen to our pick of the bunch below.

1. Hare Squead – Flowers

Jesse, Lilo and Tony are building up a buzz for their next release, ‘Season 2′, their second EP that will arrive on July 28.

According to an interview with The Fader, “The song is about taking control of your love life. People say that if something is meant to be, it’s meant to be, but you still have to put the work in, you still have to make it happen. If you love somebody you have to show it, you have to put in the effort. If you love somebody you got to work for it.”