Dive into the features you want to see

Abortion alcohol alcohol free america Art artist spotlight awards beer Belfast best best looking Best New Music beyond the pale booze Brexit British Cannabis cbd Cheese chocolate Christmas climate change closure Coffee collaboration College Green Comedy cooking counter culture counterculture Cover Story Covid Culture DC Films Derelict Ireland Direct Provision Drink drug Drugs Dublin Dublin City Council Dublin International Film Festival easter Entertainment Environment equality Fashion feature feminism Festival Film First Listen Food gaeilge Gaming General News gift gifts Gigs Graphic Design guinness harm reduction Harry Styles healthcare Heaters Heatwave heist Hennessy Homelessness Housing HSE ice cream Identity instagram Interview introduction to ireland Irish Irish coffee Irish News irishmade justice Justice League Kanye West launch Leonardo DiCaprio LGBTQ+ List Lists Literature Living Hell Lockdown Index Made by District Made in Ireland magdalene laundries meme Mental Health menu merch metoo Michelin mural Music narolane new menu New Music News nightclub nom non-binary nphet One of everything Opener Openers opening openings Opinion Pairing pancakes Photography Pints Podcasts Politics pop up pop ups potatoes Premiere presents Pride queer Ray Fisher reservations Restaurants restrictions rugby Science Shebeen Shite Talk shitetalk signature dish Skateboarding small batch Social Media soup Space Subset sustainability tacos Taxis Technology Television The Big Grill theatre Thumbstopper tiktok To Be Irish Top 10 Tracks Top Ten Tracks Traffic Trans rights Transport Travellers trends TV Ukraine Ultimate Food Guide vegan Visual Art vodka Weed where to eat whiskey wine Women's rights Workman's youtube
Music / September 1, 2022

Thundercat, Stevie Nicks & more feature on new Gorillaz album ‘Cracker Island

Music / September 1, 2022

Thundercat, Stevie Nicks & more feature on new Gorillaz album ‘Cracker Island

Ciarán Howley

Stevie Nicks, Thundercat and Tame Impala are set to feature with production by Greg Kurstin.

It’s been announced that everyone’s favourite animated quartet Gorillaz are back with their new album ‘Cracker Island.’ 

Set for release in February 2023, their eighth studio album boasts some impressive features including Fleetwood Mac frontwoman Stevie Nicks, Puerto Rican rapper and fashionisto Bad Bunny and psych-pop harbinger Tame Impala. Adeleye Omotayo, Beck, Bad Bunny and Bootie Brown will also feature on the album. 

Yesterday, the band dropped ‘New Gold’ with the Australian group fronted by Kevin Parker featured on the song’s hook. The song premiered at London’s All Points East festival where Parker joined the group on-stage for a surprise call-up.

Cracker Island is intended to be a “late night journey into the City of Angels” beginning with a “delirium of police lights and hallucinations” in the ‘New Gold’ music video. It’s rumoured Murdoc is now a cult leader with speculation brimming after launching this cryptic website submission form for ‘The Last Cult.’ This may be connected to a guest appearance from musician Beck who was once a member of the secretive Church of Scientology but has since disavowed the organisation.

The album was recorded and produced in the early months of 2021 between London and Los Angeles where Gorillaz worked with producers Greg Kurstin and Remi Kabaka. Kurstin is the recipient of eight Grammy awards for his work with Adele on her ’25’ album, including ‘Album of the Year’ as well as winning Record and Song of the Year for lead single ‘Hello.’

Check out the full tracklist below.

  1. Cracker Island ft. Thundercat
  2. Oil ft. Stevie Nicks
  3. The Tired Influencer
  4. Tarantula
  5. Silent Running ft. Adeleye Omotayo
  6. New Gold ft. Tame Impala & Bootie Brown
  7. Baby Queen
  8. Tormenta ft. Bad Bunny
  9. Skinny Ape
  10. Possession Island ft. Beck

Elsewhere on District: Biig Piig announces Sound House headliner