Dive into the features you want to see

Abortion alcohol alcohol free america Art artist spotlight awards beer Belfast best best looking Best New Music booze Brexit British Cannabis cbd Cheese chocolate Christmas climate change closure Coffee collaboration College Green Comedy cooking counter culture counterculture Cover Story Covid Culture DC Films Derelict Ireland Direct Provision Drink drug Drugs Dublin Dublin City Council Dublin International Film Festival easter Entertainment Environment equality Fashion feature feminism Festival Film First Listen Food gaeilge Gaming General News gift gifts Gigs Graphic Design guinness harm reduction Harry Styles healthcare Heaters Heatwave heist Hennessy Homelessness Housing HSE ice cream Identity instagram Interview introduction to ireland Irish Irish coffee Irish News irishmade justice Justice League Kanye West launch Leonardo DiCaprio LGBTQ+ List Lists Literature Living Hell Lockdown Index Made by District Made in Ireland magdalene laundries meme Mental Health menu merch metoo Michelin mural Music narolane new menu New Music News nightclub nom non-binary nphet One of everything Opener Openers opening openings Opinion Pairing pancakes Photography Pints Podcasts Politics pop up pop ups potatoes Premiere presents Pride queer Ray Fisher reservations Restaurants restrictions rugby Science Shebeen Shite Talk shitetalk signature dish Skateboarding small batch Social Media soup Space Subset sustainability tacos Taxis Technology Television The Big Grill theatre Thumbstopper tiktok To Be Irish Top 10 Tracks Top Ten Tracks Traffic Trans rights Transport Travellers trends TV Ukraine Ultimate Food Guide vegan Visual Art vodka Weed where to eat whiskey wine Women's rights Workman's youtube
Music / April 20, 2021

Jorja Smith returns with ‘Gone’ and reveals new project ‘Be Right Back’

Music / April 20, 2021

Jorja Smith returns with ‘Gone’ and reveals new project ‘Be Right Back’

Words: Dylan Murphy

The forthcoming eight track release marks the first body of work since her 2019, Mercury Prize-nominated debut album Lost and Found.

Jorja Smith is back with new music and a big announcement.

The GRAMMY-nominated RnB singer has revealed her next project Be Right Back arrives on May 14 2021. The news was accompanied with the release of ‘Gone’, the first single from the project.

Speaking on Be Right Back Jorja said, “It’s called be right back because it’s just something I want my fans to have right now, this isn’t an album and these songs wouldn’t have made it. If I needed to make these songs, then someone needs to hear them too.”

Continuing she talked about ‘Gone‘ saying, “There’s something about being able to write about one thing and for it to mean so many different things to others. I love that this song, well any of my songs really, will be interpreted in different ways, depending on the experiences of the people listening. This one is just me asking why people have to be taken from us.”

The news follows the release of ‘Addicted’ which also features on the project alongside six additional unreleased cuts.

Listen to ‘Gone’ and view the full track list below:

Jorja Smith – Be Right Back Tracklist:

1. Addicted
2. Gone
3. Bussdown (feat. Shaybo)
4. Time
5. Home
6. Burn
7. Digging
8. Weekend

Elsewhere on District: Catch That Villain: On Rejjie Snow’s Latest Drought.