Dive into the features you want to see

Abortion alcohol alcohol free america Art artist spotlight awards beer Belfast best best looking Best New Music booze Brexit British Cannabis cbd Cheese chocolate Christmas climate change closure Coffee collaboration College Green Comedy cooking counter culture counterculture Cover Story Covid Culture DC Films Derelict Ireland Direct Provision Drink drug Drugs Dublin Dublin City Council Dublin International Film Festival easter Entertainment Environment equality Fashion feature feminism Festival Film First Listen Food gaeilge Gaming General News gift gifts Gigs Graphic Design guinness harm reduction Harry Styles healthcare Heaters Heatwave heist Hennessy Homelessness Housing HSE ice cream Identity instagram Interview introduction to ireland Irish Irish coffee Irish News irishmade justice Justice League Kanye West launch Leonardo DiCaprio LGBTQ+ List Lists Literature Living Hell Lockdown Index Made by District Made in Ireland magdalene laundries meme Mental Health menu merch metoo Michelin mural Music narolane new menu New Music News nightclub nom non-binary nphet One of everything Openers opening openings Opinion Pairing pancakes Photography Pints Podcasts Politics pop up pop ups potatoes Premiere presents Pride queer Ray Fisher reservations Restaurants restrictions rugby Science Shebeen Shite Talk shitetalk signature dish Skateboarding small batch Social Media soup Space Subset sustainability tacos Taxis Technology Television The Big Grill theatre Thumbstopper tiktok To Be Irish Top 10 Tracks Top Ten Tracks Traffic Trans rights Transport Travellers trends TV Ukraine Ultimate Food Guide vegan Visual Art vodka Weed where to eat whiskey wine Women's rights Workman's youtube
Music / July 15, 2021

BADBADNOTGOOD announce new album Talk Memory and share new single

BadBadNotGood by Jamal Burger
Music / July 15, 2021

BADBADNOTGOOD announce new album Talk Memory and share new single

The Canadian outfit are back with a new single titled ‘Signal from the Noise’. The video for the new track stars Steve Stamp, writer and star of the BBC’s sitcom People Just Do Nothing.

Today, Canadian ensemble BADBADNOTGOOD returns to announce a new album. Talk Memory, the band’s first album with XL Recordings, features 9 new songs and is due October 8.

The album features musical contributions from Arthur Verocai, Karriem Riggins, Terrace Martin, Laraaji and acclaimed harpist Brandee Younger, who has worked with Moses Sumney, and Thundercat. Sporting visuals from Virgil Abloh, whose design firm Alaska-Alaska designed the cover for Talk Memory, the album is an evolution focused on collaboration and the magic of improvised live performance.
Demonstrating emotional and poetic progress, the new album is an aural odyssey and a heartfelt expression of joy for the music and community the band considers itself lucky to inhabit.

Of the album, BBNG says: “It took a year or two of just living life to get to the place where the creative process was exciting again and once we actually went in to the studio it was the most concise recording and writing process we’ve ever had. We hope that the improvised studio performances bring the listener closer to our live experience.”

To coincide with the announcement of Talk Memory, BADBADNOTGOOD are also sharing the album’s lead single. ‘Signal From The Noise’ is a psychedelic jazz track exploring balance and harmony through improvisation. The new track is accompanied by a Duncan Loudon-directed video. Starring Steve Stamp, writer and star of the BBC’s sitcom People Just Do Nothing, the video is a pitch-perfect accompaniment to the song.

Peep the tracklist below:

1. Signal From The Noise
2. Unfolding (Momentum 73) feat. Laraajii
3. City of Mirrors feat. Arthur Verocai
4. Beside April feat. Karriem Riggins, Arthur Verocai
5. Love Proceeding feat. Arthur Verocai
6. Open Channels [PHYSICAL ONLY]
7. Timid, Intimidating
8. Beside April Reprise feat. Arthur Verocai
9. Talk Meaning feat. Arthur Verocai, Terrace Martin and Brandee Younger

Watch the video for ‘Signal From The Noise’ below:

Elsewhere on District: 10 essential Rejjie Snow tracks