Dive into the features you want to see

Abortion alcohol alcohol free america Art artist spotlight awards beer Belfast best best looking Best New Music beyond the pale booze Brexit British Cannabis cbd Cheese chocolate Christmas climate change closure Coffee collaboration College Green Comedy cooking counter culture counterculture Cover Story Covid Culture DC Films Derelict Ireland Direct Provision Drink drug Drugs Dublin Dublin City Council Dublin International Film Festival easter Entertainment Environment equality Fashion feature feminism Festival Film First Listen Food gaeilge Gaming General News gift gifts Gigs Graphic Design guinness harm reduction Harry Styles healthcare Heaters Heatwave heist Hennessy Homelessness Housing HSE ice cream Identity instagram Interview introduction to ireland Irish Irish coffee Irish News irishmade justice Justice League Kanye West launch Leonardo DiCaprio LGBTQ+ List Lists Literature Living Hell Lockdown Index Made by District Made in Ireland magdalene laundries meme Mental Health menu merch metoo Michelin mural Music narolane new menu New Music News nightclub nom non-binary nphet One of everything Opener Openers opening openings Opinion Pairing pancakes Photography Pints Podcasts Politics pop up pop ups potatoes Premiere presents Pride queer Ray Fisher reservations Restaurants restrictions rugby Science Shebeen Shite Talk shitetalk signature dish Skateboarding small batch Social Media soup Space Subset sustainability tacos Taxis Technology Television The Big Grill theatre Thumbstopper tiktok To Be Irish Top 10 Tracks Top Ten Tracks Traffic Trans rights Transport Travellers trends TV Ukraine Ultimate Food Guide vegan Visual Art vodka Weed where to eat whiskey wine Women's rights Workman's youtube
Music / January 6, 2021

Denise Chaila, Nealo and Pillow Queens among nominees for RTÉ Choice Prize album of the year

Pillow Queens by Faolan Carey
Music / January 6, 2021

Denise Chaila, Nealo and Pillow Queens among nominees for RTÉ Choice Prize album of the year

Words: Dylan Murphy

The winner will be revealed in March this year.

The RTÉ Choice Music Prize project was established in 2005 to champion the best Irish music of the previous year. The annual ceremony celebrates Irish artists by awarding the Irish Song of the Year and The Irish Album of the Year.

It’s become one of the highlights of the year and inevitably it will be a virtual affair this year. The album of the year will be selected from the shortlist of ten albums by a panel of eleven Irish music media professionals and industry experts.  

The winning act will receive €10,000, a prize fund which has been provided by The Irish Music Rights Organisation (IMRO) and The Irish Recorded Music Association (IRMA).  

This year the nominees for Album of the Year are:

Bitch Falcon (Staring at Clocks), Denise Chaila (Go Bravely), Fontaines D.C. (A Hero’s Death), JyellowL (2020 Vision), Róisín Murphy (Róisín Machine), Nealo (All The Leaves Are Falling), Pillow Queens (In Waiting), Ailbhe Reddy (Personal History), Niamh Regan (Hemet), Silverbacks (Fad).

Last year’s winners were Dublin group Lankum.

The RTÉ Choice Music Prize Event will be celebrated in an exclusive live broadcast on RTÉ 2FM on Thursday 4th March, along with a TV-special on RTÉ2.

Click here to read more.