Music / March 4, 2021

Denise Chaila wins RTÉ Choice Prize Album of the Year

Music / March 4, 2021

Denise Chaila wins RTÉ Choice Prize Album of the Year

Words: Dylan Murphy

Congrats Denise!

The RTÉ Choice Music Prize project was established in 2005 to champion the best Irish music of the previous year. The annual ceremony celebrates Irish artists by awarding the Irish Song of the Year and The Irish Album of the Year.

It’s since become an important date for music lovers across the country and with it inevitably being a virtual affair this year, the winners were announced on the Tracy Clifford Show on 2FM.

Following a back and forth and extensive discussion from 11 industry professionals, Denise’s Go Bravely was selected as the RTÉ Choice Prize Album of the year.

Denise will receive €10,000, a prize fund which has been provided by The Irish Music Rights Organisation (IMRO) and The Irish Recorded Music Association (IRMA).  

Meanwhile, Niall Horan’s ‘No Judgement’ was announced as the winner for Song of the year. The announcement came after fans voted online.

The nominees for Album of the Year this year were:

Bitch Falcon (Staring at Clocks), Denise Chaila (Go Bravely), Fontaines D.C. (A Hero’s Death), JyellowL (2020 Vision), Róisín Murphy (Róisín Machine), Nealo (All The Leaves Are Falling), Pillow Queens (In Waiting), Ailbhe Reddy (Personal History), Niamh Regan (Hemet), Silverbacks (Fad).

Last year’s winners were Dublin group Lankum for their album ‘The Livelong Day’.

Elsewhere, Hen’s Teeth have opened their doors again.