Music / April 24, 2023

Gash Collective Drops Subversive Compilation, GASH TRAX VOL.2

ANIMWAL via Press
Music / April 24, 2023

Gash Collective Drops Subversive Compilation, GASH TRAX VOL.2

Words: Dylan Murphy

Featuring tracks from E The Artist, Oval Orbs, Roo Honeychild, DJ Boyfriend and more.

Gash Collective was founded way back in 2016 by DJ, producer and composer ELLLL and curator Lolz. Since then, they’ve been instrumental in supporting artists, producers and DJs that reside outside the mainstream, with particular focus on female-identifying and LGBTQ+ acts. Today, they’ve shared their latest project, which comes in the shape of a ten track compilation tape, GASH TRAX VOL.2.

It comes two and a bit years after the collective dropped their GASH TRAX VOL.1 compilation which featured the likes of Gadget & The Cloud, Sculptress, Syn and more.

The new project brings together ALYXIS, Roo Honeychild, Sweet Philly, Roibī, ANIMWAL, DJ Boyfriend, To Aperion, Oval Orbs, E The Artist, and Serial Experiments Jane. Across ten tracks the compilation showcases the tastemakers and forward thinking acts orchestrating the future from the outskirts, with cuts ranging from groovy and danceable to sharp and distorted peak hour tracks.

Speaking on the new compilation, Gash Collective says, “The spirit of Gash Collective has always been to support and spotlight minority talent; this compilation certainly echoes that sentiment. This release is especially meaningful to me, as when we founded Gash in 2016, it was near impossible to find producers willing to share their tracks. There was a general lack of confidence and a feeling from many minority artists that the music technology sphere was not a very inclusive one. 

Now in 2023, we have a collection of ten tracks by some of the finest and most exciting artists across Ireland. These tracks display a diverse scene, which is growing in confidence and finding its voice. While we can always do more regarding inclusivity and visibility, it’s very encouraging to see that things are slowly beginning to change”.



2. ANIMWAL – Por que sempre eu?

3. DJ Boyfriend – Tendrils

4. E The Artist – THIS MUTUAL CORE

5. Oval Orbs – Standing Upright

6. Roibí – AtaVision

7. Roo Honeychild – Grease Monkey

8. Serial Experiments Jane – Diurnal Girl

9. Sweet Philly – Bandeau

10. To Apeiron – Let Me Know

On Saturday, May 6 Gash Collective have a launch party to celebrate the compilation at National Concert Hall’s intimate Studio space. Featuring live sets from compilation artists Roo Honeychild, E The Artist and Roibī. Click here for tickets.

Purchase GASH TRAX VOL.2 on Bandcamp here:

Elsewhere on District: How a Visit to Rome Reinvigorated Denis Sulta.