Music / April 20, 2021

Kojaque announces debut album and shares title track ‘Town’s Dead’

Music / April 20, 2021

Kojaque announces debut album and shares title track ‘Town’s Dead’

Words: Dylan Murphy

Listen to the Dublin rapper’s fuzzy new hit and view the full tracklist for his forthcoming album.

Following a performance on COLORS and the release of his hotly anticipated singles ‘No Hands’, ‘SHMELLY’ and ‘Coming Up’, Dublin multi-hypenate Kojaque has revealed news of his debut album and also shared its title track.

Town’s Dead is a 16 track window into the whirlwind claustrophobia of one’s hometown.

Speaking on the new album Kojaque said,  “Town’s Dead comes from the potential that I see in Dublin and in the people I’m surrounded by day in and day out. There’s nothing but talent and ambition among young people, I’m constantly reminded of that through the art and music that I see being made but I think so often the city grinds you down, it takes your hope and your ambition.”

“I know that it can change because so many of my friend express the exact same wants, desires and frustrations with living in Ireland. If so many of us are on the same page then I know that things can change, there just needs to be some sort of catalyst to kick start that change and for me that’s always been art and music. Time and time again, amazing art continues to be made in spite of the struggles and setbacks that are presented when living here. The title track and the album is a fight against what can sometimes feel inevitable, it’s a rejection of what people tell you is your destiny as a young person in the city, Town’s NOT dead it’s just Dormant.”

Read our March cover feature with the Dublin rapper: How Kojaque killed comparisons and became Ireland’s most celebrated rapper.

Listen to ‘Town’s Dead’ and view the full tracklist below:

Town’s Dead’ Tracklisting:
1. Heartbreak
2. New Year, Who’s This? (Interlude)
3. Town’s Dead
4. Wickid Tongues
5. Shmelly
6. That Deep
7. Black Sheep Part I
8. Rover
9. Jinty Boy Blues
10. No Hands
11. Part II
12. Sex N’ Drugs ft. Celia Tiab
13. Fallin For It
14. Coming Up
15. Casio ft. Maverick Sabre
16. Curtains

Click here to pre-order Town’s Dead.

Elsewhere on District: Here’s the 21 albums we can’t wait for in 2021.