Dive into the features you want to see

Abortion alcohol alcohol free america Art artist spotlight awards beer Belfast best best looking Best New Music booze Brexit British Cannabis cbd Cheese chocolate Christmas climate change closure Coffee collaboration College Green Comedy cooking counter culture counterculture Cover Story Covid Culture DC Films Derelict Ireland Direct Provision Drink drug Drugs Dublin Dublin City Council Dublin International Film Festival easter Entertainment Environment equality Fashion feature feminism Festival Film First Listen Food gaeilge Gaming General News gift gifts Gigs Graphic Design guinness harm reduction Harry Styles healthcare Heaters Heatwave heist Hennessy Homelessness Housing HSE ice cream Identity instagram Interview introduction to ireland Irish Irish coffee Irish News irishmade justice Justice League Kanye West launch Leonardo DiCaprio LGBTQ+ List Lists Literature Living Hell Lockdown Index Made by District Made in Ireland magdalene laundries meme Mental Health menu merch metoo Michelin mural Music narolane new menu New Music News nightclub nom non-binary nphet One of everything Opener Openers opening openings Opinion Pairing pancakes Photography Pints Podcasts Politics pop up pop ups potatoes Premiere presents Pride queer Ray Fisher reservations Restaurants restrictions rugby Science Shebeen Shite Talk shitetalk signature dish Skateboarding small batch Social Media soup Space Subset sustainability tacos Taxis Technology Television The Big Grill theatre Thumbstopper tiktok To Be Irish Top 10 Tracks Top Ten Tracks Traffic Trans rights Transport Travellers trends TV Ukraine Ultimate Food Guide vegan Visual Art vodka Weed where to eat whiskey wine Women's rights Workman's youtube
Music / April 23, 2021

Toké O’ Drift recruits Julia Louise Knifefist for rager ‘igot(igot)’

Photo: Sadhbh Fitzgerald
Music / April 23, 2021

Toké O’ Drift recruits Julia Louise Knifefist for rager ‘igot(igot)’

Words: Dylan Murphy

It lands ahead of Toké O Drift’s debut album Sploooosh that lands via Bad Soup Records May 7.

This May, Dublin producer and film maker Toké O Drift is sharing his debut album Sploooosh that is loaded front to back with straight heaters and features from some of Ireland’s most exciting rappers.

Ahead of its release, he’s shared ‘igot (igot)’ featuring Julia Louise Knifefist, a certified uptempo rager.

Speaking on the track Toké said, “The idea behind the album was to get my favourite vocalists on tracks that would allow them to flex their stuff in a sonic space that was different from what they usually do.” 

“In his own stuff, Juli’s vocals are often drenched in the most delicious apocalyptic noise – so I thought it would be interesting to keep his trademarked menacing delivery but slap it on something that was a bit more feel-good and euphoric. This track was originally put together last summer, so that feeling of it being scorching outside but being trapped inside definitely came through in the track. I think it’s got big rave-in-your-garden energy.”

Julia continued and said, “We’ve known each other for sometime, we’ve talked about it on many occasions and now it’s here.”

Toké’s debut album will be released on 7/5/21 via Bad Soup Records.

Listen to ‘igot(igot)’ and check out the full track list below:

  1. The Neck
  2. igot(igot) (feat. Julia Louise Knifefist)
  3. BangBangFlow (feat. Pharaii Dambisa)
  4. Bothy Bangz
  5. Mercy (feat. Blue Niall & DHBH)
  6. Come Thru (feat. Sick Nanley)
  7. S’onlyaDream
  8. crawlcrawlcrawl (feat. DHBH)
  9. BladeRunner (feat. Nitefish)
  10. Calvin Klein Autumn Collection 2020

Elsewhere on District: Here’s the 21 albums we can’t wait for in 2021.