Music / April 14, 2023

New Albums: Angel Olsen, Black Thought, 9th Wonder & more

Petite Noir, Credit: Lucie Rox Petite Noir, Credit: Lucie Rox
Music / April 14, 2023

New Albums: Angel Olsen, Black Thought, 9th Wonder & more

Words: Dray Morgan

Petite Noir, Credit: Lucie Rox

With the endless onslaught of new music every Friday it’s hard to keep up with all the new releases. We’ve curated the essential new albums and projects out today for you to check out.

El Michels Affair and Black Thought – Glorious Game

Veteran rapper Black Thought is following up on his brilliant four track collaboration EP with soul group El Michels Affair, I’m Still Somehow.

Angel Olsen – Forever Means

The singer-songwriter releases another EP after dropping two tracks ‘Forever Means’ and ‘Nothing’s Free’ with accompanying dreamy lyric videos.

amy michelle – felicity stories

Irish artist amy michelle released an atmospheric five-track EP, with standout singles such as ‘ode to praying to the answering machine’.

Petite Noir – MotherFather

After dropping five tracks including a collaboration with Sampa the Great. This new project has been released under WARP Records who have produced artists such as Aphex twin, Flying Lotus, Onehtrix Point Never and Danny Brown.

Enny – We Go Again

UK-based artist Enny, dropped her second project with ‘We Go Again’. She mixes mellow melodies with lo-fi hip hop and even sneaks a cheeky Loyle carner feature in on the last track.

Terrace Martin, 9th Wonder, Kamasi Washington & Robert Glaspar – Enigmatic Society

Picking up where they left off on the four-way joint effort of 2020, Dinner Party, prolific hip hop producer 9th Wonder lays a perfect foundation on this new record.

Avelino – God Save The Streets

Avelino has always been bubbling on the UK scene since 2016. Here he drops tracks featuring Ghetts, Wretch 32 and more.

Elsewhere on District: Bohemians announce 2023 away kit in partnership with Palestine Sport for Life